2019 Music PEI Awards

Posted: Sunday, January 27/19 8pm Atlantic

It's with huge congratulations that we share the official press release following MUSIC PEI's 2019 celebration of the best of the best!

We have altered the release only so as to include ALL of those nominated in each category - as it truly is an honour - and we have marked the 2019 **Winners** as such!

Keep up the great work you beautiful people - we love your marvelous music Prince Edward Island. SABS


A Sweet Release...

Sunday afternoon, January 27th, many of Prince Edward Island’s music community gathered at the Rodd Charlottetown Hotel to learn who would take home the 2019 Music PEI Awards at the Awards Party.

This was not a glitzy gala affair. A couple of years ago, Music PEI Executive Director Rob Oakie thought it would be more fun to create a party-like atmosphere. Galas in the music biz are becoming less popular and the Awards Party allows the nominees to relax, see old and new friends, have some fun and especially to celebrate each other. Of course, everyone still wants to win, but the music community on PEI is a pretty tight and supportive bunch. There were lots of high-fives all around.

Hosted by Tara MacLean, the awards were presented by many of the sponsors, funders, Music PEI Board members and some special guests. The artists with the most trips to the podium were Vishtèn and the East Pointers, two of PEI’s top internationally touring artists. Vishtèn took home Congrès Mundial 2019 Francophone Artist, Group Recording and PEI Tea Company Roots Traditional Recording Awards. The East Pointers won Bandzoogle Digital Achievement of the Year, HopYard Entertainer of the Year and Fly PEI Touring artist of the Year.

Double award winners included Dennis Ellsworth, Meaghan Blanchard and Rachel Beck. Jon Matthews won Producer of the Year and his studio, The Sound Mill, won Studio of the Year. The SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Award was handed out earlier to Dennis Ellsworth on Thursday, January 24th at the SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Concert.

Achievement in Classical or Jazz Music Award
Always on Stage
**Atlantic String Machine**
Grahame Rhodes
Island Jazz
PEI Symphony Orchestra

Credit Union Album of the Year
Andrew Waite - Tremors
Dylan Menzie - As The Clock Rewinds
Jenni & The Hummingbird - Your Masterpiece
Lennie Gallant - Time Travel
**Meaghan Blanchard - The Great Escape**
Rachel Beck - Rachel Beck
Vishtèn - Horizons

Country Recording of the Year
Emerald Junction - Kickin' It
Kelley Mooney - Caroling
**Lawrence Maxwell - Not Your Outlaw**
Neil Matthews Family Tribute Band - Beautiful Island, a Tribute to Neil Matthews

Cover Band/Artist of the Year
Cöpy Cät
**Danny Drouin**
Ryan & Emily

Bandzoogle Digital Achievement of the Year
Andrew Waite
**The East Pointers**

Electronic Single Recording of the Year
Eric Broadbent - It Is What It Is
Lonely Kid & Dylan Menzie - You Could Be My Queen
**Russell Louder - Showdown**

Entertainer of the Year
**The East Pointers**
Lennie Gallant
Rachel Beck
Richard Wood

Event of the Year
Play the Park
Cloggeroo Folk Festival
Island Jazz
**PEI Mutual Festival of Small Halls**

Francophone Artist of the Year
Adrienne Gallant
Arsenault Trio

Group Recording of the Year
Death Valley Driver - Wolf Crown
Get Well Pharmacy - Story of a House Fire
Little Cities - Friends Floors
Rick Sparkes + The Enablers - The Trouble with the Light
**Vishtèn - Horizons**

Live Music Programmer of the Year
Jamie Crawford
Cynthia MacLeod
Danielle Rochon and Kathleen Flanagan
Dan Rowswell
**Pat Deighan**

Arsenault, Best, Cameron, Ellis Musician of the Year
Danny Drouin
**Evan McCosham**
Gordon Belsher
Josh Langille
Todd MacLean

Holland College/Lloyd Doyle New Artist of the Year
Jenni & The Hummingbird- Your Masterpiece
Little Cities- Friends Floors
**Rachel Beck- Rachel Beck**
Russell Louder- Showdown
Vince The Messenger- Self Sabotage

Downtown Charlottetown Inc Pop Recording of the Year
Jenni & The Hummingbird - Your Masterpiece
Little Cities - Friends Floors
**Rachel Beck - Rachel Beck**

Producer of the Year
Danny Drouin
David Rashed
Gordon Belsher
**Jon Matthews**
Lonely Kid

Recording Studio of the Year
Studio at the Guild
Guernsey Cove Parlour Productions
**The Sound Mill Recording Studio**

Rock/Loud Recording of the Year
**Andrew Waite - Tremors**
Aron Scott Earthquake - RAGER
Death Valley Driver - Wolf Crown
Dennis Ellsworth - Things Change
Rick Sparkes and the Enablers - The Trouble with the Light
Will Allen - Painted Your Picture

Roots Contemporary Recording of the Year
Dylan Menzie - As the Clock Rewinds
Get Well Pharmacy - Story of a House Fire
Lennie Gallant .- Time Travel
**Meaghan Blanchard .- The Great Escape**
Todd MacLean - Long John June

Roots Traditional Recording of the Year
Cailyn MacAulay - Fortune Favors the Bow
Richard Wood - Unbroken
**Vishtèn - Horizons**

SOCAN Songwriter of the Year
**Dennis Ellsworth- She’s Never Wrong**
Dylan Menzie/Mark Skinner- You Could Be My Queen
Lennie Gallant- Sequoia
Meaghan Blanchard- When You’re Gone
Rachel Beck- When You Left

Solo Recording of the Year
Andrew Waite - Tremors
**Dylan Menzie - As The Clock Rewinds**
Jenni & The Hummingbird- Your Masterpiece
Meaghan Blanchard - The Great Escape
Rachel Beck- Rachel Beck

Song of the Year
**Dennis Ellsworth - She’s Never Wrong**
Get Well Pharmacy - Story of a House Fire
Jenni & The Hummingbird - Am I odd
Meaghan Blanchard - When You’re Gone
Rachel Beck - Reckless Heart

Fly PEI Touring Artist of the Year
Richard Wood
**The East Pointers**

Urban Recording of the Year
BT Flow - The Worst
Cavy & SkitSipSlow - Bon Voyage
Eric Broadbent - Eric Broadbent
**Vince The Messenger - Self Sabotage**

SOCAN Venue of the Year
Baba's Lounge
The Mack
**Trailside Music Cafe' & Inn**

Video of the Year
The East Pointers- Two Weeks (Director - Jenna MacMillan)
Jenni & The Hummingbird- Am I Odd (Director - Millefiore Clarkes)
**KINLEY- Golden Days (Director - Jenna MacMillan)**
Meaghan Blanchard- The Great Escape (Director - Millefiore Clarkes)
Rachel Beck- Hearts on Fire (Director - Jenna MacMillan)

Visual Artist of the Year
Ali McNeill
**Brendan Henry**

A number of Awards are annually given out by the Music PEI Board of Directors. This year the Board was very happy to award the following recipients:
Community Contributor of the Year – Phase II
Maritime Electric Educator of the Year – Christine Blanchard
Industry Person of the Year - Debbie Atkinson
Live Music Production Professional of the Year - Chris Knox
Lifetime Achievement - Paul Bernard
Deep Roots Distillery Rooted to the Island - Tracy Cantin
Volunteer of the Year - Mary Lee Little

Music PEI would like to extend our gratitude thanks to all the funders, sponsors and partners who helped to make Credit Union Music PEI Week 2019 a great success and huge congratulations to all the nominees and award winners.

Music PEI is the music industry association for the province of Prince Edward Island and our mandate is to assist PEI artists and industry professionals to develop sustainable careers.

For more information visit musicpei.com

No Comments »

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Like us on Facebook for updates, contests and MORE!!!