2014 Atlantic Film Festival Award Winners

Posted: Sunday, September 14, 2014

(Halifax, NS) - The Atlantic Film Festival, in the midst of its highly successful 34th year, announces its award winners for the event, September 11-18 in Halifax.

The Industry Awards Reception took place on Sunday, Sept. 14. in the Imperial Ballroom at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites.

Award winners included:

CAST NO SHADOW BEST PICTUREBest Atlantic Feature: $8,000 in services
Sponsored by The Postman
Winner: Cast No Shadow by Christian Sparkes

The Atlantic Award Winner Encore Screening of  Cast No Shadow will take place Thursday, September 18, 4:30 p.m. at Cineplex Cinemas Park Lane.



Best Atlantic Short: $500 cash, $1,000 services
Sponsored by 902 Post
Honourable Mention: The Ox by Ben Proudfoot
Winner: Transfer by Christopher Spencer-Lowe

TRANSFER Best Atlantic Short

Best Atlantic Documentary
Sponsored by the 34th Atlantic Film Festival
Winner: Bounty: Into the Hurricane by Geoff D’Eon

Best Atlantic Documentary BOUNTY

Best Atlantic Animation
Sponsored by the 34th Atlantic Film Festival
Winner: Sun Tower by Siloën Daley and Dylan Edwards

Best Atlantic Director: $10,000 in services
Sponsored by Panavision Canada
Winner: Christian Sparkes for Cast No Shadow

Best Atlantic Screenwriter: $1,500 cash
Sponsored by Michael Weir Foundation for the Arts
Winner: Joel Thomas Hynes for Cast No Shadow

Best Atlantic Cinematographer: $5,000 in services
Sponsored by SIM Digital
Winner: Scott McClellan for Cast No Shadow

CAST NO SHADOW Best Cinematography

Best Atlantic Original Score: $5,000 services
Sponsored by Hideout Studios
Winner: Tanya Davis for Heartbeat

Best Atlantic Sound Design: $500 cash
Sponsored by Pilot Light Productions
Winner: Eric Leclerc for The Toll

Joan Orenstein Award for Outstanding Performance by an Actress: $500 cash
Sponsored by Sky Talent Group
Winner: Mary-Colin Chisholm for Cast No Shadow

Winner Mary-Colin Chisholm for Cast No ShadowDavid Renton Award for Outstanding Performance by an Actor: $500 cash
Sponsored by Sky Talent Group
Winner: Percy Hynes White for Cast No Shadow

Percy Hynes White for Cast No Shadow best actor aff2014The First Feature Project: Production Financing of $120,000 towards a first feature length film
Sponsored by Telefilm Canada and Film and Creative Industries Nova Scotia
Winner: Brittany Amos

Film Crew Excellence Award
Sponsored by Film & Creative Industries Nova Scotia
Winner: Maggie Thomas


The 34th Atlantic Film Festival Jury included:   

Greg Jackson is an award winning filmmaker based in Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada. He began working in film in 1999 at the Atlantic Filmmakers’ Co-operative when he took part in the Introduction to 16mm Filmmaking program. The program allowed him to develop, write and produce his first short film, “The Dishwasher Manifesto”. His latest short film, “Hallowe’en 1977”, received an AFCOOP open grant and funding through the Department of Nova Scotia Tourism, Culture and Heritage. “Eden”, his first music video that he conceptualized and directed for artist Mo Kenney, won the 10x10 RBC Emerging Filmmaker Award at the 31st Atlantic Film Festival. “Bunker 6” is his first feature Film, made possible by the Telefilm / Film Nova Scotia first feature award.

Karen Wentzell is a Halifax-based Producer and owner of Waterstar Entertainment. She most recently partnered as executive producer with Force Four Entertainment on the critically acclaimed comedy series Seed. Karen is also known for her work as producer of the successful hit television series Trailer Park Boys. Trailer Park Boys won the 2004 Gemini Award for best comedy series and is widely considered a show that changed the landscape of Canadian television. Before joining the Trailer Park Boys team, Wentzell spent 10 years as a network producer in Sports and Entertainment with CBC Newsworld in Halifax. She is a busy volunteer in the Halifax community.

Erica Proudlock is CFC’s Manager of Film & Actor Programs. A key member of the CFC’s Program team, Erica is responsible for strategic and curriculum development for numerous core programs including the Cineplex Entertainment, Short Dramatic Film and Actors Programs in addition to managing crossover activities with all other program and marketplace initiatives. She has been instrumental in establishing relationships with international guests and industry mentors, and helping to build new creative and cross border opportunities for Canadian talent. Erica’s professional  experience has taken her from Canada to Australia and back again, with stops at the Brisbane International Festival, WIFT-Toronto, and with the highly acclaimed CFC/NFB Documentary Program.

Once again, The Atlantic Film Festival was pleased to partner with Film & Creative Industries Nova Scotia and the Nova Scotia Designer Crafts council to provide each award winner with a gift from one of Nova Scotia’s many talented designers and artists. The selected works from the Nova Scotia Designer Crafts Council went through a rigorous jury selection process ensuring they are works of high quality and original design. These gifts allow us to bring another sector of Nova Scotia’s creative economy together with the film industry.

In addition, each award winner will receive a bottle of L’Acadie Vineyards finest wines. The Atlantic Film Festival is proud to have L’Acadie Vineyards as the ‘Official Winery of the Festival’.

For more information, visit: http://atlanticfilm.com/festivals/atlantic-film-festival/awards-honours

audience awardPresented by the Atlantic Film Festival, and sponsored by TTI Travel, the Audience Award for Best Feature is chosen by the audience. Festival goers who vote will be entered into a random draw to win a weekend trip for two to Montreal (accommodation and airfare paid), presented by TTI Travel. 

Voting closes after the last feature film screening, on September 18. The winning film will be announced after the 34th Atlantic Film Festival has concluded.

To vote, visit: atlanticfilm.com/audienceaward

No Comments »

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Follow Sea and be Scene on Twitter