Winners of the 33rd Atlantic Film Festival Announced!

A Sweet Release...

Posted: September 19, 2013

(Halifax, NS) - The Atlantic Film Festival wraps up its highly successful 33rd year by announcing its award winners for the event, Sept. 12-19 in Halifax.

The Industry Awards Reception took place on Sunday, Sept. 15.
Award winners included:

Best Atlantic Director: $10,000 in services
Sponsored by Panavision Canada
Winner: Jay Dahl - There Are Monsters 

There Are Monsters

Best Atlantic Screenwriter: $1,500 cash
Sponsored by Michael Weir Foundation for the Arts
Winner: Jasmine Oore - There's Been a Terrible Mistake 

Best Atlantic Cinematographer: $5,000 in services
Sponsored by SIM Digital
Winners: Kyle Cameron - There Are Monsters and Ken LeBlanc - Hive

Best Atlantic Original Score or Song: $5,000 services
Sponsored by Hideout Studios
Winner: David Chisholm - Bunker 6
The First Feature Project: Production Financing of $120,000 towards a first feature length film
Sponsored by Telefilm Canada & Film & Creative Industries Nova Scotia
Winner: Chris Turner - Lure

Film Crew Excellence Award (New)
Sponsored by Film & Creative Industries Nova Scotia
Winner: Gary Swim
The Film Crew Excellence Award is a new award this year, presented and sponsored by Film & Creative Industry Nova Scotia. Developed in partnership with local unions and the Film Advisory Committee, the award recognizes an individual or team for outstanding creative enterprise within Nova Scotia's screen-based industry. The award honours those whose work embodies the qualities of innovation, vision and relentless pursuit of excellence.

"This is a tremendous accomplishment by a talented and unwavering member of our film crew," said Cheryl Hodder, chair of the board of directors for Film and Creative Industries Nova Scotia and chair of the jury panel. "Gary's work is a testament to the talent we have here in Nova Scotia, and I want to thank him for all his efforts in helping to grow and create jobs within the film industry."
For the first time in Atlantic Film Festival history a gifting suite was created right outside of the awards, for winners to choose a piece that was not only unique to them, but would celebrate Nova Scotia’s talent.
“There are wonderful synergies that exist throughout the creative sectors in Nova Scotia”, said Lisa Bugden, President & CEO, Film & Creative Industries Nova Scotia. “They’re many local events, like the Atlantic Film Festival, that provide ready-made platforms to promote these sectors.  Many of our local artists are invited to participate in gift suites at festivals and events around the globe. We approached the Atlantic Film Festival to see how we can showcase are talented artists here at home.  The Craft Alliance, Nova Scotia Designer Craft Council and the Centre for Craft and Design were very enthusiastic about the opportunity and did an incredible job curating a selection of unique items from some of Nova Scotia’s most talented artists.”

The Closing Gala Awards Ceremony took place on Thursday, Sept. 19.
Award winners include:

Best Atlantic Feature: $8,000 in services
Sponsored by The Postman
Winner: Arctic Defenders - John Walker

Arctic Defenders

Best Atlantic Short: $500 cash, $1,000 services
Sponsored by 902 Post
Winner: Infanticide! - G. Patrick Condon
Honorable Mention: Foam Drive Renegades - Adam DeViller

Joan Orenstein Award for Outstanding Performance by an Actress: $500 cash
Sponsored by Sky Talent Group
Winner: Kristin Langille - There Are Monsters
Honorable Mention: Evany Rosen - There's Been A Terrible Mistake

David Renton Award for Outstanding Performance by an Actor: $500 cash
Sponsored by Sky Talent Group
Winner: Mark Critch - The Grand Seduction
Honorable Mention: Matt Amyotte - There Are Monsters

The Grand Seduction

Script Development Award: $10,000 in development financing
Sponsored by Telefilm Canada & The Harold Greenberg Fund
Winner: Niagara Falls (And Other Stories) - John Hillis

10 x 10 Emerging Artist Award: $10, 000 cash
Sponsored by the RBC Foundation
Winners: Filmmaker - Matthew Ingraham & Musician - Shaun LeBlanc WATCH ABOVE

Special Recognition for Animation
Winner: Kreb - Tim Tracey

The 33rd Atlantic Film Festival Jury included:  
Thor Hendrikson: Hendrikson is a Halifax based producer, director, editor and educator. A graduate of the Canadian Film Centre’s Director Programme in 1997, he has worked on innumerable films in various capacities, including a recent stint as a film school department head. He is known for his films WebHead, Table Hockey: The Movie, Viking Way, Rockhead and Me, and whatever is next. 
Yan Lanouette Turgeon: Turgeon is a graduate of the cinema program at INIS. In 2006, he headed to Italy and Japan to assist François Girard on the film Soie. He has made several short films, which have been presented in international festivals. Turgeon is also known for directing the first season of 11 Règles, which won the Webfiction jury prize at the prestigious WebTV-Festival in La Rochelle. In 2012, he directed his first feature film, Rock Paper Scissors. 
Shandi Mitchell: Mitchell is a Nova Scotia based author and filmmaker. Her award-winning short films Baba's House and Tell Me have screened at festivals across North America. In 2008, she was awarded the Canada Council's Victor Martin-Lynch Staunton Endowment in Media Arts. In 2012 she directed her first feature film, The Disappeared, which has garnered multiple awards on the festival circuit.

For more information click here

No Comments »

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Follow Sea and be Scene on Twitter